Wicked Peacock

Accessories from Emerging and Independent Designers

Glimpse into Blogger + Stylist Sami Chu Ramage

Wicked Peacock first glimpsed Sami Chu Ramage, author of the fashion and lifestyle blog, A Glimpse of Glamour, during Fashion week a few years ago at the Liberty Hotel in Boston. We loved her vintage-chic style, southerny-sweet personality, and natural flair for fabulous. Add this to her chic good-looks, plush lips, and stunning smile. One word: glimmering.

Sami Chu Ramage Wearing Kimber Elements


A haute-working Boston style-scout, Sami gets plenty of opportunity to play around with wardrobe as a mannequin stylist for Forever 21, which is no small feat given that there are over 200 mannequin and displays to change-out daily.  She admits that vintage, thritfting and Diane Von Fursterberg wrap dresses are her first loves, and looks to Forevs for basic pieces and throwback accessories. Sami’s a girl that can’t live without bright lipstick and considers nailpolish an altogether must-have.

Sami Chu Ramage wearing Kimber Elements

Sami started her blog, A Glimpse of Glamour , in 2009, out of a strong desire to enter into a greater dialogue in the world of fashion and design. She had been working in interior design sales for a few years, but had quietly cultivated a dream of becoming a personal stylist and thought that writing a blog would give her a bit of authority in the field.  “It has been a few years now, and I have found that sharing my love for fashion and my quest for everyday glamour has given me the confidence to move about in a world that I had once felt was closed off to me. I have been given opportunities to attend fashion shows and store openings, to go backstage and host events. I have met amazing, inspiring people who I now count as good friends.”

Sami Chu Ramage wearing Kimber Elements

Wicked Peacock had the pleasure of working with Sami on a recent shoot, and was thrilled at the chance to glimpse into what’s new on the glamour scene.

 WP: Describe your style and your favorite places to shop?

GoG: My hourglass figure dictates my style- which is ultra-feminine & vintage inspired. I am in a dress more often than not, and have a hard time feeling like myself when in pants. (I keep vowing to master the art of wearing separates!) I have a strong belief that they do not make clothes the way they used to, so I am a big fan of 50’s style dresses which highlight a thinner waist, and hide everything else!

WP: Why do you love jewelry?

GoG: I love jewelry because it is the quickest, easiest way to change up an entire look. Switch out a dainty necklace with some oversized earrings, and you go from day to night easily. There are endless options and endless ways to make your personality sparkle without even having to open your mouth.

WP: What’s your favorite piece on the Wicked Peacock site?

GoG: I love the Orbit Element necklace made by Seattle-based designer Kimber Elements that I rocked on our photoshoot. It is very different from my typical vintage-loving taste, but felt like I was wearing a piece of artist’s sculpture around my neck, which was amazing. 

Orbit Element

WP: What do you think will be the next big trend in fashion?

GoG: I am so excited to see a celebration of my favorite color for fall- PINK! I am loving that shades of pink and burgundy are being playfully clashed together. I think that will be big. Also, prints are going to be huge! I am looking forward to challenging myself to wear more separates and mix and match tons of prints, if I can!

Sami Chu Ramage wearing Kimber Elements 

 “Glam culture is ultimately rooted in obsession, and those of us who are truly devoted and loyal to the lifestyle of glamour are masters of its history. Or, to put it more elegantly, we are librarians,” Lady Gaga.

Photography || Silvana Costa

Jewelry|| Kimber Elements

Managing Coordinator || Becky Brackett

Blogger || Sami Chu Ramage

4 comments on “Glimpse into Blogger + Stylist Sami Chu Ramage

  1. sami
    September 18, 2012

    Yayyyyyyyyy! so happy to be included on this wonderful site.

    xoxoox
    sami

  2. Wicked Peacock
    September 20, 2012

    Sami – you were SO fabulous to work with and we are looking forward to more fun collaborations! xoxo

  3. Jaime Lynn (@laviejaime)
    September 26, 2012

    She looks gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

Previously on Wicked Peacock

