Wicked Peacock

Accessories from Emerging and Independent Designers

The Accidental MetalSmith, Seattle’s Kimber Elements

An accidental jewelry designer, Seattle-based sculptor Kimber Elements fell into the art while taking welding classes to work on her car. A self-procialmed “gear-head” and antique-car buff, she’s been restoring her 67′ Karmann Ghia for the past seven years. It was while learning to weld parts for her car, she became intrigued about fine jewelry and soldering on smaller and more delicate surfaces. She launched her first small collection of jewelry on 11.11.11 to much success. 

 Kimber Elements
 
 

Her work is influenced by abstract text, repetition, simplicity in modern forms, industrialism, geometry, and natural elements. All of her pieces are exclusively limited-editions, eleven pieces in each collection of elements, chosen because “K” is the eleventh letter in the alphabet. “I want people who purchase my jewelry to feel unique and know that they’re wearing a limited edition piece of art. Each piece is thoughtfully handcrafted and numbered.”

Orbit Element

The Orbit element, available for purchase on Wicked Peacock

Tactile and textural, Kimber Elements works with simple materials that are not traditionally used to make jewelry. “I like a little bit of edge, grit and exaggerated forms that are a little uncomfortable and finding a way to make them comfortable and wearable. My design process consists of hand forging steel. Since I’m not working in precious metals I have the liberty of experimenting directly with the material. I tend to sketch with the metal and I work quite fast relying on instinct and intuition.”

Boston Blogger Sami Chu Ramage wearing the Orbit Element

Boston Blogger Sami Chu Ramage wearing the Orbit Element

 
 

A Minute with Kimber Element Reveals….

WP: When you design, what kind of woman do you have in mind? 

KE: My designs are for the confident woman who seeks out and selects jewelry to highlight her own sense of style. More than an accessory, my pieces embody a bold and personal statement. 

 

WP: Who are your favorite jewelry designers?

KE: There are so many inspiring and creative jewelry designers and I’m constantly discovering new ones. My favorites at the moment are Birgit Hagmann, Myung Urso, Biba Schutz, Jennifer Bennett, Sondra Sherman, and Sarah Loertscher. 

WP: Define Your Style

KE: Minimal meaningful. I like modern, clean and simple designs with subtle and unusual details, angles, cuts and textures. I like the hunt of finding unique independent designers and contrasting them with vintage and thrift store finds. I love to shop when I’m travelling and supporting local designers. I also admit that I wear a lot of grey. 

WP: What is your most prized piece of jewelry?

KE: My favorite pieces are constantly evolving. Current favorite is my wedding ring. I spent two years obsessively designing it and having it remade by Sally Brock at Fancy. I put so much pressure on myself, and found the right designer to make a unique set of rings that didn’t look traditional. It’s modern, minimal, blingy and bold with all recycled materials and family heirloom diamonds.

Caffeine Element

The Caffeine Element available for purchase on Wicked Peacock.

One comment on “The Accidental MetalSmith, Seattle’s Kimber Elements

  1. sami
    September 17, 2012

    i adored wearing your pieces for the short while that i did. it was like lining my neck with miniature sculptures ❤

    xo
    sami

Leave a Reply

Previously on Wicked Peacock

