Wicked Peacock

Accessories from Emerging and Independent Designers

Island Trend Report: Wicked Barbados

Image
At Wicked Peacock we like to keep our fingers on the pulse of trends here in Boston, nationally and even internationally. Becky, our Director of Marketing and PR was recently in Barbados did some trend-hunting for WP and is bringing us the style report.
_______________________________________
For a small island, Barbados has some serious vibe. The people are as warm as the weather and their wardrobes are as bright and bold as the landscape. Our group was happy to ditch our cell phones, simplify, and live as islanders for the week. We were warmly welcomed and had no troubles transitioning to island time. As one man put it, “I’m Bajan, I’m never early.” We ate and drank our weight in fresh fruit, coconut water, and off-the-dock fish. Oh yeah, there was some rum too. It was freeing to embrace the uncomplicated and breezy beach style that is a part of Bajan culture and I am hopeful that I can infuse a bit of this into my Boston life!
skulls, shark teeth, stones
Of course I was especially excited to scope the accessories scene and Barbados didn’t disappoint. Small boutiques and street vendors offered unique pieces and I wish I could have brought home a suitcase full. Over the course of the week I noticed some common themes which I call the 3 S’s – skulls, shark teeth, and stones.  Maybe it’s a phase but right now I am head over heels for all things skeletal. Half of my vacation wardrobe was comprised of skull t-shirts and I walked away with accessories to match. How amazing are the turquoise skull beads? I’m still enthralled. The shark tooth necklace seemed like an appropriate island purchase and I came home with several as gifts. Shark teeth have been a topic of conversation at WP for the past few months. Silvana has a bowl full of them in her studio just waiting to be transformed into pieces and we’ve seen them hit the Givenchy runway. Can’t go wrong with small and simple stones. I love the layering of tiny stones in this bracelet and the color is reminiscent of the Bajan water.
I’m happy to be back and little more “tanned & toned” (as Silvana puts it) and feeling refreshed, re-focused and ready for the fall launch of Wicked Peacock! Have you done any traveling this summer? Ever been to a place that has incredible style? Found a life-altering accessory? We’d love to hear what international trends you’ve been eyeing. There’s so much out there to be discovered. Start hunting! I’ll sign out by leaving you with some ethereal instagrams from the trip.
xoxo,
Becky

paradise found

Leave a Reply

Previously on Wicked Peacock

